Can I connect a Zoom G1X Four to my pc by USB?

Discussion in 'General discussion' started by Aether, Jan 22, 2021.

1. Aether

Aether New Member

I am going to buy a Zoom G1X Four and I wanted to know if it is possible to connect the Zoom G1X Four to my pc using a USB cable for recording purposes?

2. Mog

Mog Member

You can connect the Zoom G1X Four to the PC using a USB to save / load / create patches with the Tonelib Zoom software. However, to record the audio output you'll need to use a USB/Audio interface with digital output (eg Behringer) connected to the Zoom G1X Four audio output.

3. Aether

Aether New Member

Thanks

4. Renegade

Renegade New Member

Hi Mog.
    I am new to zoom gear. I tried to use my sonicport VX {which I have been using as my interface for my DAW on my laptop).
    I tried plugging my zoom G1X four into it but no sound.
    Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
    Cheers

5. Renegade

Renegade New Member

It's ok. Got it sorted. Swapped a few cables. May have a couple of duds.
    Cheers

6. Mog

Mog Member

Hi Renegade,
    I don't know if this will be much help but things to check would be:
    1 - Install drivers for Sonicport VX (which you've probably already done)
    2 - Check if you get sound when you connect your guitar directly to the Sonicport (no effects pedal)
    3 - If step 2 works then link guitar through effects pedal to sonicport
    4 - If step 2 works but step 3 fails, it could be the USB cable between effects pedal and sonicport is faulty, replace and try again.
    5 - If step 2 fails it could be a faulty cable between guitar and sonicport or sonicport and PC, or your DAW isn't set up to accept the Sonicport driver or your PC is not seeing the Sonicport input (check sound settings -> recording -> mic).

I know these are just basic checks, maybe someone with more experience of the Sonicport VX can help you further.

Best Wishes
    Mog

7. Mog

Mog Member